Events

New Nature Writers Presents:

New Year’s Resolution: Getting Outside in 2021 – Nature Writing 101

DATE: Saturday January 30, 2021

TIME: 10:00 – 11:00 a.m. Pacific/11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Mountain/12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Central/1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Eastern

RSVPpupfishpress@gmail.com for Zoom link. Presentation will be recorded and sent to all who RSVP. That way if you miss the live presentation you can watch it later!

Want to reconnect with the outdoors, with nature after the holidays? Have you always wanted to write about nature, gardening, parks, trees, rivers, and the ocean? You need not be outside or at a national park to write about lands, waters, and critical environmental issues.

Join New Nature Writers for this virtual introduction to nature writing. In-session exercises will give you some practice, will be relaxing, and will energize and inspire you to get outside and be creative in the New Year.

Nature Writing as a genre has experienced a rise in popularity in the last few decades. There have always been writers who have addressed topics surrounding Nature, however, lately, their words have become more urgent.

You’ll be introduced to the definition of Nature Writing, authors who are considered pure Nature Writers and why this genre is necessary.

All are welcome to establish a new nature writing practice or to continue building a nature writing practice in a supportive environment. This session helps beginners as well as more experienced writers.

Laurie Scheer is your Writing Ranger and co-founder of New Nature Writers. She has enjoyed working with writers in the entertainment industry and at institutions of higher learning. As a professional speaker, she has programmed and appeared at annual writing events and her personal interest in Nature Writing stems from her love of the American Desert Southwest and from being an avid cyclist and hiker. As an Aquarian, she has always wanted to bestow healing for the globe. She currently lives in the Palm Springs area surrounded by cactus and mountain ranges that have many answers.

New Nature Writers connects all of us through stories. We exist to encourage, mentor, and support writers within the Nature Writing genre.

 

Pin It on Pinterest