Stories & News

The Weekly Landscape 2.14.21

by | Feb 14, 2021 | Nature News, The Writing Landscape, Writing Advice

Greetings New Nature Writers,

There is good news on the horizon for Nature writers. Publishers Weekly  has recognized a new category within their weekly reporting – Vital Signs: Environment & Climate Change Books 2021 that will feature new volumes of work by writers dedicated to a subject matter close to our hearts. Here is the first link: https://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/new-titles/adult-announcements/article/85506-vital-signs-environment-climate-change-books-2021.html

This is a good sign that publishers are recognizing current writers and are welcoming of future voices.

BYGONE DAYS – Here’s a fascinating look at a woman traveling through France in the 1950s – inspiration to all of you currently writing about your road trips and/or dearly beloved vacations. Here is Chronicles of a Writer’s 1950s Roadtrip Across France by Kathleen Newton Phelan:

https://lithub.com/chronicles-of-a-writers-1950s-road-trip-across-france/

NOWADAYS – Erin Berger focuses upon what Gretel Erlich gets wrong about Climate Change – do you agree? Looking forward to discussing this in the future.

https://www.outsideonline.com/2420660/unsolaced-gretel-ehrlich-book-review

SCENIC OUTLOOK – Join us on Saturday February 27 for our first Drop-in meeting. One of the first topics of discussion will be the difference between Place vs. State of Mind. In other words, how many places do you know that sometimes exist beyond just their location points on the planet and actually really resonate to us beyond just where they are located? Think Hollywood, Paris, Jerusalem, NYC, etc.

This and more…

Saturday, February 27, 2021, 10am Pacific/11am Mountain/Noon Central/1pm Eastern
New Nature Writers presents Our First Ever Saturday Drop-in Session
 
To those New Nature Writers that have subscribed, you’ve been receiving our blogposts The Weekly Landscape. We’ve been featuring articles, essays and visuals addressing current trends in Nature Writing.  Join us at our first ever Saturday Drop-in Session for writing prompts, questions about these materials and/or your own writing and lots of lively discussion. Get to know your Nature Writing colleagues. If you wish to observe only, you are welcome also.
 
Together we’ll build a fresh new Nature Writing Community. 
Discussion facilitated by Laurie Scheer

Join us

Stay connected with nature stories and writing events.

One-day only: July 10 2021 Summer Writing Camp!

To Write, to Understand, to Heal | Starting or Re-Booting Your Creative Writing Practice in a Pandemic Recovery

If you are eager to flex your writing muscles and do some fun, joyful exercises to awaken your creativity and begin to process the events of the past 18 months, we are here for you!

Pin It on Pinterest